Saturday, January 24, 2015

Fresh Ink: Spotlight on Debut Books of All Kinds
Deborah Harkness meets Preston & Child in this edge-of-your-seat debut thriller--a superb blend of mystery, fantasy, horror, and the supernatural

When Lauren's father dies, she makes a shocking discovery. The man she knew as John Reardon was once a completely different person, with a different name. Now she's determined to find out who he really was, even though her only clues are an old photograph and the name of a town: Gideon.

But someone--or something--doesn't want her to discover the truth. A strange man is stalking her, appearing everywhere she turns, and those who try to help her end up dead. Neither a shadowy enemy nor her own fear will prevent her from solving the mystery of her father--and unlocking the secrets of her own life.

Making her way to Gideon, Lauren finds herself more confused than ever. Nothing in this small midwestern town is what it seems, including time itself. Residents start going missing, and Lauren is threatened by almost everyone she encounters. Two hundred years ago, a witch was burned at the stake, but in Gideon the past feels all too chillingly present. . . .

Read an excerpt HERE. 

Read an interview with the author HERE. 

A chat with Alex Gordon

Praise for the book:
“A deliciously creepy paranormal thriller, Gideon sucks you in one step at a time until you are well and truly caught in the story. Highly recommended.” ~Anne Bishop,  author of the Black Jewels trilogy

“A seductive work of paranormal horror that will draw readers into its cold and gloomy world. …This novel will thoroughly satisfy readers looking for suspense, horror and a grisly good time.” ~Kirkus Reviews
“Crisp and shiveringly disturbing prose, a solid plot, and well-developed characters all make for a deeply satisfying read.” ~Publishers Weekly

“This debut supernatural tale does a solid job of portraying the menace of small-town evil. ... This will appeal to fans of books such as Katherine Howe’s The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane or Deborah Harkness’s A Discovery of Witches.” ~Library Journal

"Generations ago, the people of Gideon burned a witch at the stake, and that decision has haunted the town ever since….[T]he town itself is the real main character—a small, suspicious community of souls standing guard over the barrier between this world and the next….The twists and turns are entertaining enough, and there are a couple of strong surprises lurking near the end, but it’s the atmosphere that’s the real star here…In the end, the book is as much about life in a small, closed-off community that believes ‘blood tells’ and character can be inferred from a last name as it is about elemental magic and the struggle between good and evil. This novel will thoroughly satisfy readers looking for suspense, horror and a grisly good time.” ~Kirkus Reviews

 “Anchored by well-crafted prose that features a creepy-as-hell villain, Gideon feels like Arthur Miller’s The Crucible brilliantly re-conceived in a Neil Gaimanesque universe. Gordon hooks readers from page one ... making for a book that is impossible to put down.” ~RT Book Reviews

No comments: