Tuesday, January 15, 2013

"Quirky doesn't even begin to cover it," says Jackie

Whether she takes on evolution and modern manhood, international adoption, real estate, the movie industry, science and faith, art, or terrorism, Gartner fillets the righteous and the ridiculous with dexterity in equal, heartbreaking, and glorious measure.

Angels crash land, lovers speak IKEA, a mountain swallows tony West Coast properties, and a killer stalks the great motivational speakers of North America.

These stories ruthlessly expose our covert fears and fathomless desires and allow us to snort with laughter--while grieving at the grotesque world we'd live in if we all got what we wanted.

Jackie says:
"Quirky doesn't even begin to cover it. I was seduced by the title (after all, I'm only human). I have to admit that this book was way out of my reading comfort zone. It's wild, it's weird, the humor is intellectual and cutting, the ideas wildly creative. No subject is safe from Gartner's unique and penetrating observations. Fans of Douglas Coupland, George Saunders and David Foster Wallace will feel the most at home with this book. While I am not one of those people, I found the intellectual challenges of this book to be refreshing and strangely fun. Go on, give it a try!"

No comments: