Wednesday, March 5, 2014

The Buzz For This Book Is Huge and Getting Bigger—Jackie Knows Why. 

In modern-day England, witches live alongside humans: White witches, who are good; Black witches, who are evil; and sixteen-year-old Nathan, who is both. Nathan’s father is the world’s most powerful and cruel Black witch, and his mother, a White Witch, is dead. He is hunted from all sides. Trapped in a cage, beaten and handcuffed, Nathan must escape before his seventeenth birthday, at which point he will receive three gifts from his father and come into his own as a witch—or else he will die. But how can Nathan find his father when his every action is tracked, when there is no one safe to trust—not even family, not even the girl he loves?

In the tradition of Patrick Ness and Markus Zusak, Half Bad is a gripping tale of alienation and the indomitable will to survive, a story that will grab hold of you and not let go until the very last page.

See the exclusive trailer for the book HERE.

Read more about the debut author and the HUGE buzz this book is getting HERE.

Jackie says:
"This book is already a phenomenon—sold in 42 countries already, movie rights purchased, and lots of buzz around the world. Normally, I'd have back-peddled already—I don't trust hype as a general rule. But boy oh boy, am I glad it landed on my desk before I heard the hype, because this is one HECK of a read. Technically a YA book, it's going to be a wide-ranging crossover for readers from 12 years up. The tale is about so many things, but mainly racism, though in the book we are talking about White Witches (supposedly the good guys) and Black Witches (supposedly evil and actively hunted by the WWs).  Nathan is caught in the middle—his father is the most powerful Black Witch and known as a killing machine (at least that's what Nathan's told—he has never met the man but understands he looks almost identical to him), while his mother, a White Witch, has died under questionable circumstances. Because Nathan is "half and half," he is torn from his family and sent to a sort of prison. I don't want to reveal much more because I don't want to spoil anything. I'll just warn you—start it when you have plenty of time because putting it down is going to be very, very hard to do. "

No comments: