Monday, September 22, 2014

Fresh Ink: Spotlight on Debut Books of All Kinds

Something strange is happening at the Orsk furniture superstore in Cleveland, Ohio. Every morning, employees arrive to find broken Kjerring wardrobes, shattered Brooka glassware, and vandalized Liripip sofa beds—clearly, someone or something is up to no good. To unravel the mystery, five young employees volunteer for a long dusk-till-dawn shift—and they encounter horrors that defy imagination. Along the way, author Grady Hendrix infuses sly social commentary on the nature of work in the new twenty-first century economy.

A traditional haunted house story in a contemporary setting (and full of current fears), Horrorstör comes conveniently packaged in the form of a retail catalog, complete with illustrations of ready-to-assemble furniture and other, more sinister accessories. We promise you’ve never seen anything quite like it!

Praise for the book:
“A fun horror novel....Enjoyable....There is a fair amount of workplace humor, but the book...will deliver enough scares for horror fans as well.” ~Library Journal

“A very clever ghost story....the story is entertaining and the book itself is laid out like an Orsk catalog” ~Booklist

“...a clever little horror story...the book starts as a Palahniuk-tinged satire about the things we own...turning the psychological manipulations and scripted experiences that are inherent to the retail experience into a sinister fight for survival. A treat for fans of The Evil Dead or Zombieland, complete with affordable solutions for better living.”~Kirkus Reviews

Jackie says:
"This book is a mayhem of comedy, kitch and rather hard core horror in thick doses.  It's hilarious in a lot of ways, but it's got a very dark heart.  But anyone who ever worked in retail, especially anyone who worked for big boxes, will get a kick out of this book.  Well, as long as they aren't squeamish.   I found it a fun read.  It might be the weirdest debut I've ever promoted, but a little weird is good from time to time.  If nothing else, flip through the catalog-like format of the book--that will have you laughing within minutes."

No comments: